Boyswear

This summer, I’d much rather be a boy…Or a girl in boys clothing at least.

Instead of squeezing myself into one of the ubiquitous floral playsuits that have become the London girl’s 2010 summer uniform, I want to don preppy rolled up trousers, striped t-shirts and espadrilles. And I want short hair that doesn’t act like a wooly scarf around my neck.

The latest Paris shows haven’t helped my boy envy. Menswear has been having a moment in the spotlight for some time now and it’s easy to see why. My favourites from the Paris collections were from b Store and Margaret Howell.

Check out this lovely, slouchy grey jumper with cute polka-dot t-shirt. And some trousers that are virtually identical to a pair I already own from Banana Republic and can’t stop wearing.

b Store (image from Style Salvage)

It’s not just me that is appreciating the boyish look. Alexa Chung has been doing it for ages of course. But I find it interesting that labels such as Preen – previously known for their body-con super-feminine dresses – have come up with some decidely androgynous pieces for their latest resort collection. Hopefully this means I won’t actually have to start buying my boyish clothes from the mens section.

Preen resort collection (image from style.com)

Leave a Reply

