Coco Fennell

For those girly girls out there, let me introduce you to Coco Fennell: pretty name, pretty face, very pretty dresses. Coco has just set up her eponymous label and it is very lovely indeed.

I’ll admit, Coco happens to be a friend of a friend, but initial bias aside I challenge you not to find something to like in her small but perfectly formed collection.

It doesn’t try to be too ‘fashion’ but instead, comprises the kind of pieces that once you’ve bought one, your friends will be begging to borrow it because it’s wearable yet fun.

Coco Fennell Long Poppies Dress

Elle Tea caught up with Coco earlier this week. So here you go, from the lady herself…
Where do you get your inspiration for your designs? 

I like to start with the shape. I think a flattering shape is above all the most important thing. For prints I am inspired by old fashioned children’s illustrations and anything a bit silly, unusual or super girly. I love designers like Jeremy Scott and Jc De Castelbajac who don’t take themselves too seriously…clothes should be fun and I think people forget that sometimes.

How would you describe the Coco Fennell girl?

I wanted to make dresses that could be dressed up or down so a Coco Fennell gal would be one who would take the dress and style it up however she wishes. There is no set mould!

Where do you get your dresses made?

I have them made by a lovely fella in India. I tried having them made here in London but as a small brand it was proving very difficult, people were only interested in producing lines of thousands and I’m not ready for that yet!

Who are your style crushes?

I admire anyone who really goes all out like Lady Gaga or Daphne Guinness but I think it’s important to have your own style. I wear what I like and feel comfortable in and if you feel that way then it doesn’t matter what other people think.

What are your favourite style blogs?

My absolute favorite blog is 2bitchezdeep.blogspot.com I love everything on it always! I also love Studded Hearts and Sea of Shoes. Oh and check out mine! cocofennell.blogspot.com


Coco Fennell Ditsy Dress

Thanks Coco! Wishing you lots of success with the label.

Leave a Reply

