Dressing Properly

Those who know me are probably getting slightly tired of hearing about E.Tautz but it was very exciting to find out that it just won British menswear designer of the year at the British Fashion Awards! Huge congratulations to Patrick Grant and the team.

I remember when the label was just a germ of an idea and we starting talking about how it would be wonderful to champion the notion of men dressing properly. This concept of taking pride in one’s wardrobe and dressing for the occasion – as was the case for British gentlemen of yesteryear – then became the founding philosophy of E.Tautz, even before any clothes were designed.

Now that E.Tautz is having a moment in the spotlight, Patrick finally has a platform to espouse the Tautz belief in dressing properly. The Guardian just ran an article featuring Patrick saying that “British men are too scruffy”.  I can only hope that all those scruffy Guardian readers (no offense – I’m one myself) get past the minor insult and take note.

Dressing well isn’t necessarily about vanity, it is about respecting the people who you are in company with. Men who look a mess are denying those around them (and not just us girls) of any aesthetic pleasure. And frankly, that’s just selfish!

Obviously I’m not saying everyone has to wear a suit and tie daily, I’m just gently (ish) suggesting that taking a few minutes to think about what you put on in the morning doesn’t make you a vain, shallow half-man man. It actually makes you a considerate and socially aware individual.

So there you go. I look forward to seeing my male readers neaten up their act.

And in case you need a bit of inspiration, here’s a few delicious menswear bits that I’ve come across during my Christmas shopping browsing. Deliberately choosing things that aren’t anyone’s gifts of course. Sorry bro, you’re not getting any of these from me!

1. Every man needs a good pair of brogues. A few of my nearest and dearest swear by Loakes. These brogue-style boots are lovely and will last forever.

Loakes boots

2. You’ll always look smart in a classic Pea Coat. This one from Jaeger is very manly (even if the guy modeling it may not be) and won’t date.

Jaeger Military Pea Coat

3. A good quality cashmere sweater is an essential, especially in the freezing conditions of recent weeks. I like this simple one from Acne.

Acne cashmere sweater

3 responses to “Dressing Properly

  1. you are a girlfriend’s dream. I now know where to go for the boy for Christmas. I totally agree re. dressing properly. It’s for the common good. x

  2. Oh good – glad to be of use! Lucky boyfriend x

  3. Pingback: London Collections: Menswear favourites | Elle Tea

Leave a Reply

