Four eyes

For the past few months I’ve been on a mission to find new glasses. A number of my friends have, at some point, patiently traipsed around London giving me a nod or more frequently, a shake of the head, as I try on multiple pairs.

Apparently I have a ‘difficult’ face for specs – it’s too wide (don’t laugh) and my nose isn’t an ideal shape for keeping glasses from slipping down and making me look like a stern librarian.

Anyway, thanks to the patience of my dear friends/advisors, I have finally found a pair that not only fit (they’re extra, extra wide) but are also stylish enough for me to not feel too frumpy when I’m wearing them. Here they are in all their glory:

My new glasses!

As a result of this fairly extensive mission, I feel like I’ve tried on every pair of glasses in London and therefore am now a bit of a specs expert. Call me up if you ever need to go glasses shopping – I’ve got all the lingo and know all the brands!

One very cool thing I came across on my hunt, were ethical glasses companies which operate a “buy a pair, give a pair” policy. For every designer pair they sell, they give a pair to someone in the developing world.

As someone who literally can’t make their way safely downstairs without their specs, the thought of providing sight to someone who could otherwise not afford it, is just fantastic.

Warby Parker is a very successful American company that does just this. Their glasses are both trendy and reasonably priced as they “cut out the middleman” and design their own styles. I love the Tenley design below.

Warby Parker - Tenley glasses

Jimmy Fairly is the French equivalent of Warby Parker. They donate a pair of glasses to charitable organisations in Guinea and the Himalayas whenever someone buys a pair online.

I particularly like the user interface on the Jimmy Fairly site, with the sweet little icons for different face shapes and styles.

Jimmy Fairly

They’ve also got some mega stylish sunglasses which I might have to go back to next Spring.

One response to “Four eyes

  1. I love your new glasses! I, too, have been on what seems like a never ending quest to find some new specs. I’m glad I reached your page when looking up WP glasses reviews. I’m also enthused looking through the JF site, which I have to say, in my opinion, their selection is more appealing. Did you order your pair from the JF website?

Leave a Reply

