Turkish summertime

Just back from another wonderful holiday in Turkey – can’t recommend it highly enough as a place to go to recharge – staying at the beautiful Deniz Feneri Lighthouse hotel, near a little town called Kas. It was a week of pure relaxation:  swimming in the azure blue sea, eating copious amounts of delicious mezze, kayaking over a sunken city, and doing some waterside yoga.

Inspired by Louis Vuitton’s Art of Packing,  I tried to rely on a minimal and multi-tasking holiday wardrobe:

2 x borrowed sundresses

Usefully, I’m the same dress size as my mum so I borrowed two of her sundresses and they proved perfect for the hot weather. One was a white, light cotton wrap dress and the other, a bright royal blue linen shift dress. Chic but comfortable and roomy enough to eat lots of delicious Turkish food in. Yes.

Borrowed dress (thanks mum)

1 x Miu Miu sunglasses

Ok, so I don’t actually own these particular fabulously feline miu miu glasses but my more conservative (and I think more flattering) miu mius seldom left my eyes in the bright Turkish sun.

Miu Miu sunglasses (image from miumiu.com)

1 x plain black swimsuit

My faithful M&S black swimsuit (cost approx £9.50) worked very hard on this holiday, doubling up as a morning yoga kit, a leotard with denim shorts, and of course, a very practical yet chic enough piece for some power swimming in the open sea.

Morning yoga in the M&S one piece

1 x clutch/iPad case

This super-soft leather iPad case from Capulet served as a clutch in the evenings, a pouch for valuables in my beach bag and as a case for my iPad on the move. A multi-tasking holiday wonder piece!

Capulet’s Fleur iPad case

1 x denim shorts

A well-worn pair of vintage cut off Levis I’ve had for years. Perfect to throw on over swimsuit and potter about it.

1 x day to night sandals

Topshop sandals

I picked up these sandals from Topshop in a rush one day but they’ve turned out to be a staple this summer. The gold chain and gold heel make them dressy enough for the evening but they are also incredibly comfortable for walking around in the daytime. I find sandals never really last more than one summer so it’s not worth spending much.

So it’s time to pack away the holiday wardrobe for another year now. Boo!

Leave a Reply

